Pine Grove Behavioral Health & Addiction Services, an extension of Forrest General Hospital, opened its doors in the spring of 1984. Originally, Pine Grove only treated adults in an inpatient setting but today offers a wide variety of programming for patients. Now, Pine Grove is Mississippi's largest drug and alcohol treatment center for psychiatric and addictive diseases with a variety of inpatient, outpatient, and residential programs.
These services include the treatment of alcohol and drug abuse, disordered eating, sexual addiction, and psychiatric disorders. Pine Grove's treatment facilities are headquartered in Hattiesburg Mississippi. Our specialty programs: Professional Enhancement Program, Men's Next Step, The Women's Center, Legacy program, and Gratitude programs are also located in the Hattiesburg area. Since its establishment, Pine Grove has treated patients from all of Mississippi's 82 counties, 49 states, and several foreign countries.
Pine Grove also operates outreach offices throughout South Mississippi in Columbia, Madison, McComb, Meridian, Laurel, and Picayune. Assessment and referral services to drug and alcohol treatment centers are also available in the Lucedale and Mobile area.
Positioned at the fork of the Leaf and Bouie Rivers - the heart of south Mississippi's rolling piney woods - Hattiesburg, Mississippi, provides a unique blend of affordability and high standard of living for nearly 50,000 residents.
Hattiesburg is the educational, retail and medical center for more than a quarter of a million people who live throughout the southeast Mississippi region and is also the home of the University of Southern Mississippi, William Carey College, and Camp Shelby.
Our City's History
Hattiesburg was founded in 1882 by Captain William H. Hardy, pioneer lumberman and civil engineer. Early settlers to the area were of Scottish, Irish, and English desent who came from Georgia and the Carolinas, attracted by the vast acreage of virgin pine timberlands. This was an area of rich promise at a time when renewed development of the South was getting under way.
The City of Hattiesburg was incorporated in 1884 with a population of approximately 400. Originally called Twin Forks and later Gordonville, Hardy gave the city its final name of Hattiesburg, in honor of his wife Hattie.
Also in 1884, the railroad, known as the Southern Railway System, was built from Meridian through Hattiesburg to New Orleans. The commercial value of the great virgin timber stands was quickly recognized and, for a time, timberland was available for as little as 50 cents to $1.50 an acre. Mills sprang up; naval store plants came on the heels of the timber industry, and turpentine stills became as numerous as the sawmills.
The completion of the Gulf and Ship Island Railroad from Gulfport to Jackson, now part of the Illinois Central System, ran through Hattiesburg and ushered in the real lumber boom in 1897. Though it was 20 years in the building, the railroad more than fulfilled its promise. It gave the state a deep water harbor, more than doubled the population of towns along its route, built the City of Gulfport and made Hattiesburg a railroad center.
After World War I, Hattiesburg found a new way of life became necessary. The people of the region were able to adjust themselves and proved willing find new and diverse ways of making a living bringing with them further population booms.